Skip to content


CHIM professionals have a focused understanding of various practice areas.

These include information governance, quality, medical terminology, analytics, technology, and privacy. They provide leadership and critical perspectives on the collection, protection, and access to health data.


The Canadian College of Health Information Management is the certifying body for health information management (HIM) professionals. Candidates who successfully write the Certified in Health Information Management (CHIM) national certification examination (NCE) earn a CHIM professional designation. This examination assesses the entry-level competencies of graduates of accredited HIM programs. 

Maintenance of certification

The requirements for upholding and maintaining this professional designation are as follows:

  1. Annual membership renewal with the Canadian Health Information Management Association (CHIMA) 
  2. Upholding of the professional code of ethics
  3. Completion of the required continuing professional education (CPE) credits as per the timeframe set forth in the CPE policy

Failure to meet any of these criteria may result in decertification

Learn about the CHIM national certification examination

In the CHIM NCE guide the following sections are presented:

Section 1

About the CHIM NCE

Section 2

Examination application

Section 3

Studying for the examination

Section 4

Preparing for examination day

Section 5

Writing the examination

Section 6

Receiving results

To view the appropriate CHIM NCE guide, please enter your academic details